Disability Confident Employers

Disability Confident Employers can display one of these three logo's, please read below to find out more about the different levels. 


Follow this link for all the Disability Confident Employers in Warwickshire (February 2019) Disability Confident Employers in Warwickshire

Warwickshire County Council was accredited with Disability Confident Level 2 in October 2017 and the accreditation lasts for two years. Being Disability Confident Level 2 means that:

  • we have undertaken and successfully completed the Disability Confident self-assessment 
  • are taking all of the core actions to be a Disability Confident employer 
  • are offering at least one activity to get the right people for our business and at least one activity to keep and develop our people.

The government’s Disability Confident scheme aims to help employers make the most of the skills and talent provided by employing disabled people and replaces the Guaranteed interview (‘two ticks’) scheme which Warwickshire County Council has taken part in for several years.

The Disability Confident scheme has 3 tiers.:-

Level 1 - Disability Confident Committed: 
aimed at encouraging employers varying in size and sector to start the journey to becoming Disability Confident. Level one asks employers to sign up to a number of actions such as supporting existing employees to stay in work if they’ve acquired a long term disability or health condition, and to undertake one activity such as offering work experience to someone who is disabled.

Level 2 – Disability Confident Employer:  
enables employers to demonstrate via a self-assessment the action that they are taking to recruit and retain disabled people. Level two asks employers to sign up to deliver core actions as well as two activities. Activities include: providing work experience, including disability awareness equality training in the induction process and offering a guaranteed interview to disabled candidates who meet the minimum selection criteria (as in the current “two ticks” scheme).

Level 3 – Disability Confident Leader: 
employers act as champions within their local and business community, supply chain and networks and are required to invite an external organisation to validate the self-assessment that is carried out in level two and record activity being taken in support of being a Disability Confident Leader.

Warwickshire County Council aspire to achieve higher accreditation and aim to act as a model employer. If you would like further information about the scheme please contact the equalities team via equalities@warwickshire.gov.uk